Export Control Classification- Harmonized Tariff System Nomenclature -Schedule B
Security Eye
Evolutions in Business Logo

Evolutions in Business

ITAR and EAR Compliance Support since 1989

Protecting National Security through Export Regulatory Compliance
Export and Import Corporate Compliance Training & Advice



ECCN, HTS and Schedule B

A key in determining whether an export license is needed from the Department of Commerce is finding out if the item you intend to export has a specific Export Control Classification Number (ECCN). ECCNs are five character alpha-numeric designations used on the Commerce Control List (CCL) to identify dual-use items for export control purposes. An ECCN categorizes items based on the nature of the product, i.e. type of commodity, software, or technology and its respective technical parameters. An ECCN is different from a Schedule B number, which is used by the Bureau of Census to collect trade statistics. It is also different from the Harmonized Tariff System Nomenclature, which is used to determine import duties. All ECCNs are listed in the Commerce Control List (CCL) (Supplement No. 1 to Part 774 of the EAR), which is divided into ten broad categories, and each category is further subdivided into five product groups.

Classification Services

  • FEES: $375 per ECCN/ Schedule B or included in retained services (up to 10 products)
  • ECCN Determinations, SNAP R Commodity Classification Filings (CCATS)
  • Schedule B determinations
  • HTS Determinations offered by licensed customs brokers or customs attorney (additional fees for this service)